Deacon Commits to Nipissing University


The Whitecourt Wolverines are proud to announce that Mitch Deacon has committed to Nipissing University for the 2014/15 season.

Deacon a 6’1, 172lbs power forward appeared in 53 games in the Alberta Junior Hockey League with Lloydminster, Olds, and Whitecourt, collecting a total of 5 Goals 19 Assists and 176 Penalty Minutes.

The Port Moody, British Columbia, native also spent the 2012/13 season with the Victoria Royals of the Western Hockey League, collecting 3 Goals 7 Assists and 43 Penalty Minutes in 58 Games.

Decaon joined the Wolverines in a November 28th trade that sent Jacques Bernier & Luke Fenske to Swan Valley (MJHL).

“I chose Nipissing because of how amazing their facilities are along with their hockey program. Their coaching staff (Mike McParland – Head Coach, Mark Kosturik & Richard Rochefort – Assistant Coaches) have a wealth of knowledge and a lot of experience to further my game as well.”

“As for my time in Whitecourt , It was awesome especially the people behind the scenes, Owner Brent Stark was outstanding and I have never seen an Owner so involved.  The fans were always there no matter what. And as far as my Billets go, they were the best I have had in 4 years of Junior Hockey. Thank you to the town of Whitecourt for all the memories.”  -Mitch Deacon

Deacon is not the only Wolverine to suit up for the Nipissing University Lakers. Former Wolverine defenseman, Dale Deon joined the Lakers mid-way through the season this past January.

“After acquiring Mitch in December he soon became a very important member of our hockey club.  Mitch was a complete player that played his role very effectively.  His size, speed, and aggressiveness permitted him to become a dominate power forward in our league.  He was a very coachable player that was respected by his teammates”  – Head Coach & General Manager Joey Bouchard

Mitch is the fith player this season from the Wolverines to have a commitment at the University or College Level.  Here are the following committed players:

Mitch Deacon (Nipissing University)
Colten Mayor (University of Western Ontario)
Jerome Raymond (McGill University
Ryan Berlin (Princeton University)
Matthew Abt (Rochester Institute of Technology)

Devin Rideout
Director of Off Ice Operations