Wolverines Drop Opener to MOB

Photo Courtesy: Melissa Baker Photography

Fort McMurray, AB – The Whitecourt Wolverines fell in game one of their North Division Semi-Final series to the Fort McMurray Oil Barons by a score of 4-3 in overtime.

The teams skated to a scoreless but very physical first period.

Less than 30 seconds into the middle frame, the Oil Barons opened the scoring on a power play as Taner Miller was able to sift home a point shot through a screen.  The Barons extended their lead to 2-0 just over two minutes later on a shorthanded goal from Shane Fraser after he was set up beautifully by Merritt Oszytko.  The Wolverines chewed into the Fort McMurray lead with just over six minutes to play in the period as Jake Hobson blasted in a point shot.

Five and a half minutes into the third period the Oil Barons regained their two-goal lead after Coy Prevost found an open Reed Morison in front of the Wolverine net where he would make no mistake.  The Wolverines got back to within a goal just before the period was half over as Ben Evanish stripped a puck in the neutral zone and set Spencer Bast up from the left wing circle on a two-on-one rush.  The Wolverines would equalize the game in dramatic fashion as with just over a minute left and an extra attacker on the ice, Ben Evanish centered a puck to a wide-open Liam Motley who one-timed in the tying goal.

The Oil Barons snuffed out the Wolverine's comeback attempt just under seven minutes into overtime as Jordan Roy waltzed out of the left wing corner and lifted a backhand shot past Wolverine goalie Xavier Potvin.

Game two of the series goes Saturday night at the Casman Centre at 7:30 p.m.

Scoring Summary

1st Period:

No Scoring

2nd Period:

FM Goal – 0:26 – Taner Miller(2) from Will Conley and Curtis Roach (PP)

FM Goal – 2:28 – Shane Fraser(2) from Merritt Oszytko and J.C. Thivierge (SH)

WCT Goal – 13:54 – Jake Hobson(1) from Stevie Bryant (EV)

3rd Period:

FM Goal – 5:26 – Reed Morison(2) from Coy Prevost and Gunner Kinniburgh (EV)

WCT Goal – 9:27 – Spencer Bast(1) from Ben Evanish (EV)

WCT Goal – 18:56 – Liam Motley(2) from Ben Evanish and Spencer Bast (EV)


FM Goal – 6:46 – Jordan Roy(1) from Jack Hamly (EV)

Shots – WCT 25 (7-7-9-2) FM 25 (8-6-7-4)
Power plays – WCT 0/5 FM 1/6  

WCT – Xavier Potvin (3-1) 21sv/25sh
FM – Chris Curr (4-0) 22sv/25sh

Three Star Selection:
1. FM-Jordan Roy
2. WCT-Liam Motley
3. FM-Shane Fraser

Danali's Handyman and Rental Service Hardest Working Wolverine: Yannik Bertrand

Recap presented by: