4 Wolverines nominated for League Awards

The AJHL announced their nominations for the 2023/24 AJHL Awards. Awards are voted upon by the league GM’s and Coaches with 4 nominees coming from each category.

The reigning coach of the year, Shawn Martin, is nominated once again after bringing the Wolverines to a 1st place finish for the first time in franchise history and 30 wins for the 7th time.

Ben Charette is nominated for both AJHL MVP and top Goaltender. Ben leads the AJHL in both save % at .925 and Goals against average at 2.40. Charette has a 20-9-5 record with 4 shutouts this year and is the only goalie nominated for MVP as well.

Joey Melo is nominated for rookie of the year after a record setting season for the Wolverines in which he set the record for most goals scored by a Wolverines rookie (22) and is 2nd in points among all rookies at 43.

And Wolverines Co-Captain Dylan Leslie is nominated for the most dedicated in the AJHL. Leslie is in his 5th season, all with the Wolverines and has set a career high for points at 38. Leslie has suited up for 193 games for the Wolverines (including playoffs) and sits at 4th most all time in franchise history.

Award winners will be determined through a final stage of voted concluded at the end of the regular season.